Select Page
Event info
Date:28 Aug
Time:15:30 - 19:00
Venue:Medicon Valley Alliance, HUB3, Arne Jacobsens Allé 13, Copenhagen
Contact person
Katrine Brems Olsen

Katrine Brems Olsen

Network & Event Manager

+45 2337 0040

MVA R&D Network – With Morten Meldal, Nobel prize in chemistry 2022

Medicon Valley Alliance R&D Network is proud to present winner of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2022, Professor Morten Meldal.

Professor Meldal will give a lecture on his groundbreaking work on what’s known as ‘click chemistry’, a chemical reaction that has made it possible to ‘glue’ molecules together. The method is a very useful tool, particularly in the field of pharmaceuticals research.

At the event you will also have the chance to hear how the click chemistry is being used today in two case presentations. Finally, there will be time for Q&A with Professor Meldal and the case presenters.

Date: 28th August, 2023
Time: 15.30 – 19.00
Venue: Medicon Valley Alliance, HUB3, Auditorium, Arne Jacobsens Alle 13 , 2300 Ørestad City, Copenhagen



15.30 Arrival, registration and network
16.00 Welcome and introduction
Anette Steenberg, CEO, Medicon Valley Alliance
16.05 Molecular Click Adventures. A Leap from the Shoulders of Giants
Professor and Nobel laureate Morten Meldal, University of Copenhagen, Dep. of Chemistry
17.05 Company cases
Christian Tornøe, Principal Scientist, Novo Nordisk: Clicking proteins at Novo Nordisk
Ulf Nilsson, Professor, Lund University / Founder, Galecto Biotech: Glycomimetic click chemistry — from drug discovery to patients
17.45 Q&A
18:15 Protecting the click
Louise Aagaard, Partner, European Patent Attorney, HØIBERG
18.25 Concluding remarks
18.30 Networking with wine and light food
19.00 End of Meeting 



Photo: Lars Krabbe
Professor Morten Meldal, University of Copenhagen, Dep. of Chemistry
Morten Meldal was rewarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2022.
Morten Meldal is a professor at the University of Copenhagen and head of the Center of Evolutionary Chemical Biology. He has served as the Deputy Head of Department for Education (VILU) at UCPH’s Department of Chemistry. He has a unique influence on methods used in peptide and combinatorial chemistry. His specialties span combinatorial chemistry, click chemistry, polymer chemistry, organic synthesis, automation in synthesis, artificial receptors and enzymes, nano assays, biomolecular recognition, enzyme activity, cellular assays, molecular immunology, nano scale MS and NMR, encoding. He founded the Society of Combinatorial Sciences, of which he is also president. He has published more than 300 publications and holds 21 patents. He is also the company founder and CSO of Betamab, a company that conducts biotechnology and pharmacological research, diagnostics and pharmaceutical development. 
Christian Tornøe, Principal Scientist, Novo Nordisk
Christian Tornøe completed his undergraduate studies and Ph.D. with Nobel laureate Morten Meldal at the Carlsberg Laboratory in 2002. He then worked 10 years on small-molecule drug discovery at H. Lundbeck A/S and Neurosearch focusing on CNS disorders. After joining Novo Nordisk A/S in 2011 he has used solid-phase peptide synthesis and native chemical ligation to drive drug discovery and currently holds a position as Principal Scientist.


Ulf Nilsson, Professor, Lund University / Founder, Galecto Biotech
Ulf Nilsson research interests are in molecular recognition studies in biological systems and in artificial model systems, biology and medicinal chemistry of galectins, sialic acid transport proteins, bacterial adhesion proteins, DHODH enzymes, and chemistry at brain-machine interfaces. He has published more than 200 publications and holds 24 patents. He co-founded three biotech companies including Galecto Biotech, a company that develops glycomimetic drug for the treatment of cronic inflammation and cancer. In 2017 he was awarded the Wallmarkska prize by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in the Engenströmska medal in gold by the Royal Physiographic Society in for his accomplishments in the chemical sciences in combining fundamental scientific discoveries with practical applications. He is an elected member of the Royal Physiographic Society, Sweden.


Deadline for registration is 20th August

The MVA R&D Network
Joining the MVA R&D Network is free of charge but is limited to Medicon Valley Alliance members. Non-member organizations and companies are welcome to attend one network event to evaluate the relevance in joining the network. For more information please contact Katrine Brems Olsen


Organized by Sponsored by
Høiberg logo